What is a Warrior

The Inspired Life

Being a Warrior doesn’t mean winning or even succeeding. It means risking and failing and risking again, as long as you live…”
~Richard Heckler, In Search of the Warrior Spirit

Are you a Warrior?  What comes to your mind when you think of that word? Is it the battle cry of noble men racing into battle for causes greater than their own lives? Is it mighty sacrifice, the greatest of all love laid on the line for the needs and lives of others? Is it the ability to overcome the odds, continue on in the face of defeat, never say die, never say quit?

When pushed to action, where is the warrior within you? What does it take to sound your battle cry? Does it have to be a last straw that gets you going or are you marching on every day, battling the villains that would keep you from victory?

What is the mindset of the Warrior? What makes him different from the pack? What sets him in front, when others would fall behind and lose ground?

 Is being a warrior different than being a leader? While there is just one leader, one commander heading the charge, there can still be an army of warriors battling together, banding arm and arm, teams of them linked by loyalty and commitment to a noble cause.

I think about this concept, this word and I don’t have all of the answers. But I can sense the idea of it. A strength. A tenacity. Indomindable Spirit. Honor. Formidable Bravery. Getting back up when others would have stayed down and quit fighting.

We all face battles in life. None of us are exempt. To wish for a charmed life without problems or battles to face is as silly as spitting in the wind. It will get you nothing but spit on your face and nothing learned, nothing gained. How  you face your battles in life, how  you choose to battle is the mark of a good man or woman. Not whether  you have them. How  you manage them.

So…do you face life’s battles like a warrior or do you run and hide, wishing them away?

I have heard five different stories about cancer this week. Three about women who are battling breast cancer and yet are spending their time being committed to reaching out to others to make their world a brighter better place. One about a very brave woman fighting back from cancer, her second time in remission from a type of cancer that she should have had a very low chance of surviving. She is one tough cookie. The fifth one passed away this week after a very brave and hard battle. She left behind family and friends who’s world is forever changed by her example of love and courage.

These women remind me that how  we face life’s battle is the true test of our honor, courage and love. Even the little day to day ones. The cloudy days, the headache days, the crabby days. People like this inspire me, sometimes shame me, always make me proud, always make me humble and remember my priorities. If they can fight the BEAST of Cancer, we can fight the beast of mundane life.

Like warriors. With honor, patience, love, commitment to each other. Never giving up. When we fall, getting back up quicker and doing it some more.

No one said it is easy, this thing called life. It’s easier  when we do it together. It’s easier still when we remember to stand tall, arm and arm and fight for the important things in life.

 Like Warriors

15 thoughts on “What is a Warrior

  1. I have had the peasure to meet such a warrior,his Name is Mark,he has a blog http://canceriskillingme.blogspot.com. He writes of his battles and his struggles to get through each day. The main theme of his is that he will never give up. I find visiting him to be inspirational. there are many visitors to his site,he says that the visits helps in thriugh his days.

  2. Hahah!

    A warrior…is a VIKING!!!

    (I’m sure Brett will have similar comments to add!)

  3. By the way,,sorry to hear about the cancer stories. I went through the same thing watching my Mom fight it.

    It was in her bowel and started going into her lymph nodes. It was really scary.

    But don’t worry, she’s now 6 years cancer-free and strong as an ox. (She cycles 10,000 kilometers a year). That’s a good success story you can pass on to your friends…

    Didn’t mean to get too silly with my first post. I didn’t want to diminish your message…but you know…it’s Viking Friday, I tend to get excited when I read Brett’s posts.
    🙂

  4. I tend to forget, as I’m sure others do, that arm in arm with friends and fellow warriors, we can face any adversity or trials we may have. Sometimes it’s hard to see that the army is there ready and willing to fight, but it’s nice to be reminded once in a while!

    Great Post!

  5. Wendi,

    You are a true warrior, for sure. And while I do not know all of the women you mentioned, I believe I know who you refer to as the fifth one, and I was very saddened by it.

    My wife Cathryn is a warrior, too. Stronger than I could ever imagine I could be.

    I leave you with this (hopefully your spam filter won’t eat my comment due to the links) – first, a Maori haka:

    And this one, done by the All Blacks prior to a rugby game – still traditional, of course:

    Cathryn and I saw one much like the first one last year (and I have a couple of pictures of her with one of the Maori warriors). Chilling.

    Here is what they are saying in the second video:
    Ka mate! Ka mate! Ka ora! Ka ora!
    Ka mate! Ka mate! Ka ora! Ka ora!
    Tenei te tangata puhuru huru
    Nana nei i tiki mai
    Whakawhiti te ra
    A upa … ne! ka upa … ne!
    A upane kaupane whiti te ra!
    Hii…

    And the translation (roughly):
    I die! I die! I live! I live!
    I die! I die! I live! I live!
    This is the hairy man
    Who fetched the Sun
    And caused it to shine again
    One upward step! Another upward step!
    An upward step, another.. the Sun shines!!

  6. My favourite quote on warriors is: “I don’t like the large commander at all, who walked in large steps, bragging with his curls, and finely shaved. One should be rather small and have bowel legs; only if he stands certainly on his feet and is full of courage!” Archilochus fr. 13 (shamefully rough translation by me)

    Embrace your inner warrior and nothing else matters.

  7. Wendi- Grace. If we look for grace. Doesn’t mean we hit that mark all the time, just means the arrow is pointed in the right direction, doncha think?

    ( I am so glad you liked the painting. Thank you. I appreciate that you made the effort to tangle with that silly word verification. Really. Not to worry though. The Pen Men will take care of all that soon. )

  8. I always wonder what kind of strength I’d have when faced with such a situation. But you’ve got a point that we can do our best to handle the mundane situations we actually are faced with. To do any less is pretty insulting to people facing true challenges.

  9. Hi Wendi,

    I think when we’re faced with a tough situation, the warrior in each of us surfaces. Often, after the fact, you’ll hear people say, “I still don’t know how I did it”. It was the warrior in them. We’re all much stronger than we think.

  10. OK Wendi. I won’t post this one to the blog, so see your email.

    Help me decide if I what type of warrior I should be.

  11. @Barbara snd Janice
    I agree with you…we ALL are much stronger than we think we are. and I think that Janice has a point that it is in grace that we find that strength. Janice, Grace is one of life’s miracles if we can focus on it.

    @Sara, I hope you never have to find out 🙂 But, I am sure you are strong and tough. If you needed to be, you would find it. I had a friend once who told me she lived a charmed life and that nothing bad had ever happened to her and she just *Knew* she would crumble if she ever had to walk a mile in my shoes. Fast forward a decade and that woman has been through hell and back and faced it with such dignity and courage that I marval at her. IT’s there when you need it.

  12. @Martin ( Fasc) Welcome!!! Thanks for the quote!

    @Brett, I know you have your own Warrior at home 🙂 She is amazing! And yes, you probably do know who the 5th one was, the other ones were more personal. Thanks so much for the great links and adding so much to the discussion with them!

    @ Steph…thanks for the comment, I love having you visit.

    @Friar…Ha! I never even made the connection that I was posting this on Viking Friday..what a goof..or..great minds on the same page maybe? hehe

    @Irish, looking for e-mail…haven’t seen it but checking!

  13. MJ,

    Thanks for the link to Marks site. I went there and read a lot of it and added my prayers to his journey. I really, really HATE cancer.

  14. Jenny,

    Friendship is one of the most specatular gifts the world offers. I know you know this. You are a great friend! Good friends make us a lot stronger.

Comments are closed.