St Patrick’s Day Round up!

 

 Old Celtic Blessing


May the blessing of light be on you–
light without and light within.
May the blessed sunlight shine on you
and warm your heart
till it glows like a great peat fire.

 How was your St. Patrick’s Day? Fun? Boring? same old, same old? very special?

Being that we are a family that can trace both mine and my husband’s Irish heritage down to single towns in Ireland,  ( and not that far away from each other!)We tend to make a big deal out of the holiday.

My husband John’s family has been doing a wonderful and somewhat unconventional celebration each year of getting together and cooking Stuffed Cornish Hens out on the grill. Not that there is anything all that Irish about Cornish hens, but they tried it one year, liked it and have kept with it for around 20 years.

When we got married, and I added my Irish/Italian  family to the mix, it expanded the group from a modest number of 6 participants to a gang of 16! SO, the party moved over to our house and gave me a chance to stretch my party planning creativity. This has become one of my favorite holidays. This was our third year now and we had a great time!

The menu is planned out ahead of time and doesn’t change much from year to year. Each member of the family focuses on bringing special dishes. John’s mother and brother focused on making the homemade stuffing and stuffing the Hens. My mother made the homemade double baked potatoes, My daughter brought salad and beverages and my son and my future daughter-in-law brought desserts galore! John and I make two types of homemade beer, one Irish stout and an Irish Brown Ale, homemade bread, appetizers and the asparagus.  Then John and his assistants spend the day outside on the patio manning two grills to get the hens grilled to perfection. Everyone pitches in and works together to make the feast amazing!

 

 st-patricks-day-2009-desserts         st-patricks-day-2009-024-desserts-and-decorations1 

Emilie’s amazing desserts  will now become St Patty Day classics, as I am sure everyone will clamour for them every year. They were as delicious as they look!

st-patricks-day-2009-table-setting

The table decorations are very simple too. I found a green St Patrick’s Day tablecloth on a clearance rack and the green pails were at Target for 2 dollars each. A little ivy tossed in the pails, a few sunny daffodils, two green candles and some green paper napkins filled out the whimsical and festive table. I love to put together simple and inexpensive items to create an artistic table presentation without breaking the budget!

 

The entire day was filled with Irish music that John had created a playlist of, there was much laughter and conversation, and a warm fire crackled in the fireplace adding to the cozy Day. The girls took some time out for a manicure session and took turns painting each others nails green.

st-patricks-day-2009-020

 

One of my favorite things about being married to John is that we both share the value that Family comes first.  We love to have our family arround us, celebrating the special days of our lives and we love to take the little extra moments to add in the simple things that make it special. This St. Patrick’s Day is one that will be a lasting memory for all time and I am already thinking of new ideas for next year!

How about you? I would love to hear any ideas that you might want to share about how you spent the holiday. I am always on the look out for clever ideas to stick in my holiday planning journal.  Please share!

 

 

If you enjoy what you see here, you may also enjoy our sister blog: Life’s Little Inspirations, a blog about living an Inspired Life. See you there!

This entry was published on March 21, 2009 at 12:21 am and is filed under 107. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “St Patrick’s Day Round up!

  1. I wish my family did stuff like that. Your celebration sounds like so much fun. My family has issues of finding the time and worry too much about who will be there, it’s kind of aggravating!!!

    I’ll have to start thinking about something to do like this…Hmmmm.

  2. Your family celebrations showcase the true spirits of St. Patrick Day.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

